My main problems with the NHS Bill

30 Jan

More opprobium poured on the Health and Social Care Bill

Ian Greener's Academic Blog

Without wanting to create scare stories, I think it sensible to try and explain the reasons why I think it will lead to problems later on. I’m not alone in foreseeing problems – several other commentators have written about this as well. What I can do is explain my perspective on this, and to try and justify my fears.

I’ve organised the following under three headings: problems about the market; problems about provider failure; and problems about responsibility for the system. I can then end by explaining briefly a different way of thinking about the problem of NHS reform than is in the Bill.

Problems about the proposed market

We seem completely in thrall to the idea that there must be some kind of market for healthcare reform to work. However, I’m not convinced about this at all. I’m very much of the view that the problems of putting in…

View original post 1,203 more words

Leave a Reply

Illusions of Autonomy

Where medical ethics and human behaviour meet

Enjoying every second

Cada lugar, cada rincón, cada momento compartido arreglando el mundo entre imprescindibles

The Commonplace Book

Jim McManus blogs on public health, ethics, books, theology and more