What does MobiMOOC 2012 offer me?

8 Sep

The gauntlet has been thrown.  MobiMOOC 2012 starts this weekend.

Two essays have me thinking – “what does MobiMOOC 2012 offer me?”; “why have I signed up for this activity?”

Michael and Rebecca have written well on their hopes and objectives.  So why shouldn’t I do so too?

Why am I signed up for MobiMOOC 2012?

The simple answer is the 2011-2012 annual appraisal concluded with my Appraiser advising I should be more active sharing what I do and know about eLearning technology and resources with my colleagues.

This sounded easy, but how do you go about demonstrating competence in an area which remains poorly defined, at least in medical education.  Yes, I use android tablet and phone. Yes, I use the cloud to share resources with my students and colleagues. However, this seems trivial when reading all about the activities of many of the facilitators and students in this year’s MobiMOOC 2012.

MobiMOOC 2012 notice turned up on Google Plus I thought this is what I think I need to gain sufficient skills, knowledge and understanding to encourage my colleagues and students to explore the education technologies available to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of their continuing professional development.

What does MobiMOOC 2012 offer me?

Well the simple answer for what is offered is contained in the introduction from Inge

There is a wealth of information and applications and contacts.  But this is worth nothing if I do not implement some of the learning points and engage with my colleagues and students to attempt to persuade more to invest some time and effort into using education technology.

So this gets me to the heart of the matter.  How do you overcome the reluctance of peers to embrace new technology to improve patient care?  Actually, is there evidence that eLearning does improve patient outcomes?  How much additional effort is needed to learn the new tools? What sort of investment?  What is the best device? Why are some patient settings so difficult to work with to improve point of care education and decision tools?

There are probably many more questions. And I hope that the discussions over the coming weeks and beyond will help me overcome the pain points which obstruct progress in the uptake of elearning tools in healthcare.

David

8 Responses to “What does MobiMOOC 2012 offer me?”

  1. egsaaede September 8, 2012 at 22:00 #

    Hi David,
    I’m just starting to get to know education within the healthcare setting, but so far, my experience is that small interventions of coaching are more effective than anything else. I’m working on a project creating a face-to-face workshop on teaching skills (nothing to do with eLearning) for preceptors in family medicine. But, at the end of each of our review and planning meetings, I take 10-15 minutes to coach the MDs on my team – I show them a little each time on how to this or that on their iPads or laptops (many of the doctors in Ottawa have iPads due to a rollout at the Otttawa Hospital – and few have had any training on how to use them). So that 10-15 minutes once a weeks gets them a little further along each time – but doesn’t overload them with too much information.
    Technology adoption takes time – and not just classroom time dedicated to it, but actual calendar time, where people get a chance to reflect on what they learn and try things out. So just a few steps each week goes a long way to adoption.
    Cheers,
    Rebecca

  2. maturinuk September 8, 2012 at 22:31 #

    Rebecca, thank you for taking the trouble to comment. I do like the phrase “calendar time”, it is not one I have heard before.

    Yes, I am passionate that the education technology must be integrated into normal workflow, and not be seen as an “extra” or “add-on”.

    As a full time GP who teaches students weekly, but not an accredited teacher (is that an oxymoron?) there is little calendar time to help my practice colleagues, let alone work with health care professionals in the wider locality.

    Money is not the main issue – it is balancing the grind of daily practice with making sufficient time to work on this.

    I do offer opportunistic face-to-face instruction, but it is challenging when even my senior partner struggles to copy and paste documents on the desktop and no-one in the practice is interested in storing practice documents on a secure cloud (skydrive).

    David

    • VanessaVaile September 9, 2012 at 02:34 #

      David, from working with reluctant humanists in education, I can identify with your frustration. A couple of points come to mind. First is the obvious: the MDs you work with should have basic skills and at a certain comfort level using computers. This should (hahaha) be their responsibility but that could be easier said than done. Would it be possible to set up a workshop and then (the hard part) get people to attend? Would a page with self-paced online tutorials work better?

      Showing /convincing them that once mastered the applications will save them more time might help too.

  3. Inge Ignatia de Waard September 9, 2012 at 07:11 #

    Thank you for sharing your views David. It always helps me to orientate myself by reading other peoples ideas (and challenges).
    Innovation is seldom embraced, but mostly met with a lot of skeptics. Nevertheless it is innovation that is getting people from around the world connected to that same world.
    I work in a medical world (tropical medicine) and as such I can see how mobile devices are changing health care in developing regions (patients are now able to learn more about how to monitor their disease (diabetic sms project), MD working on HIV/AIDS are able to exchange knowledge via mobiles to keep up to date with the latest research. I will share some projects during Malcolm Lewis’ topic on mHealth.

    And for me: mobile devices help me to stay on top of my diabetes (I am type 1, so no insuline production) via mobile devices which have a profound effect on my HbA1c or bloodsugar). In the future mobiles will increasingly be used to detect diseases from early on (proteine analysis in toilets, blood analysis…) with the use of mobile devices, so I feel there is a must to at least monitor the mobile evolution.

    On the teaching without credits… same here😀

  4. las artes September 9, 2012 at 23:22 #

    Officials from Ministries of Education, international experts and practitioners in mobile learning, as well as representatives from major partners in the field will share innovative ways of learning with, and through, mobile technologies, and how they can be used to achieve the Education for All goals and improve the quality of education.

  5. free health care September 13, 2012 at 09:27 #

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give one thing back and aid others like you helped me.

  6. love poem September 15, 2012 at 22:28 #

    Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to mention that I’ve truly loved browsing your blog posts. After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I am hoping you write once more very soon!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Asthma Education Uk | Asthma Education Site - September 9, 2012

    […] – InboxTranslation.comThe Learning Health Care System in America – IOM’s latest reportWhat does MobiMOOC 2012 offer me .recentcomments a{display:inline !important;padding:0 !important;margin:0 […]

Leave a Reply

Illusions of Autonomy

Where medical ethics and human behaviour meet

Enjoying every second

Cada lugar, cada rincón, cada momento compartido arreglando el mundo entre imprescindibles

The Commonplace Book

Jim McManus blogs on public health, ethics, books, theology and more